寿命测试仪器 & Suns-voc

什么是复合寿命?

当光照射到硅时,如果光子的能量比阀值能量即硅的能带隙更大时,光子会被硅吸收,产生过剩电荷载流子。这些载流子在返回低能量状态之前持续一段相当于它们“寿命”的特征时间。回落到低能态的过程称为重组。因此,把一个过剩载流子回到低能量状态的特征时间称为复合寿命。

太阳能电池的效率如何取决于寿命?

如果过剩载流子的寿命比载流子通过晶片所需的时间即渡越时间长,那么大部分从光产生的过剩载流子可以从太阳能电池中收集到。如果材料中的寿命比晶片的渡越时间长,则可以在更高的电压下收集电流,在相同的集电分数下,每个较高的寿命对应于更高的电压。太阳能电池的所有其他设计元素相等的情况下,具有较高的载流子复合寿命的太阳能电池将具有更高的效率。效率高的太阳能电池设计严重依赖载流子寿命。标准的太阳能电池依赖于一个点,其他损失往往导致效率上升,继而让寿命增加。

什么决定了硅片的寿命?

体硅的寿命取决于硅的化学纯度和晶体生成的方式。单晶硅具有近乎完美的结构,每个原子在晶格结构中处于最佳位置。这种晶体材料如果足够纯净,可以有很长的寿命。多晶硅的制作成本较低,但有许多晶体缺陷,如晶界和位错。在生成单晶硅的初始材料相同的情况下,这些缺陷会导致寿命更短。金属杂质对寿命产生特别不好的影响,这已被广泛研究。例如,铁污染在1010的这部分可以很大程度上改变一个硅晶体的寿命。不幸的是,铁是一种常见的污染物,因为它在大多数生成和加工硅的机器部件的不锈钢中使用。对于晶片,测量的寿命通常取决于表面效应,表面扩散(发射极饱和电流密度)或表面钝化的质量。一个Sinton寿命测试仪可以用来监控和优化这些方面的生产工艺。

Sinton设备工具是如何测量寿命的?

我们的系统使用涡流法。传感器(内置于仪器阶段的线圈)被放置在硅样品附近并向硅中发射电磁波。然后光脉冲投射到样品上以产生多余的载流子,而线圈电路则检测到由于载流子而导致样品电导的增加。对这些数据进行分析,并在照明期间或之后记录多余载流子的寿命。

如何分析数据?

我们采用瞬态光电导技术,和准稳态光电导法(QSSPC),我们在1994年便研发出了准稳态光电导法(QSSPC)。这些测量被认为是业界最精确的校准,用于记录载流子复合寿命的精确值。文献中有1000多篇科技论文可供查阅,讨论这些技术所采用并分析的数据。

你能测量表面复合速度吗?

是的,在技术文献中,这些是最常用的记录表面复合速度的仪器。购买设备提供的应用说明给出了详细的分析。

系统测量发射极饱和电流密度吗?

这是仪器的另一种常用用法,在仪器中提供了详细的应用说明。

可以测量没有表面钝化的晶片吗(“开箱即用”)?

是的,我们有一个应用说明,用于测量没有表面钝化的p型晶片。没有表面钝化,所测得的寿命非常低,因为光产生的载流子迅速扩散到表面并重组。然而,通过使用所测量的寿命和与晶体质量有关的捕获特性,大多数太阳能电池的质量仍然可以在感兴趣的范围内确定。

可以生成寿命地图吗?

是的, SBS-150 可以光栅扫描自动X-Y映射。WCT-120, BCT-400, and BLS-I设备都可以用来做的很初级的(厘米级)的地图册。

这些测量与微波PCD相比如何?

微波PCD可以用来生成高分辨率的地图,这些地图可用来画出样品空间变化和缺陷。Sinton仪器主要用校准单位记录寿命和表面复合性能,这个记录可以作为样本中载流子密度的一个功能。

Sinton设备的测量以校准的物理单位进行分析,为了使结果能够用于太阳能电池和性能预测。其结果还可以与不同实验室或不同公司的不同技术所采用的其他校准寿命测量结果进行比较。微波PCD测量通常从设备的原始数据里记录曲线拟合参数(微波反射信号的主模寿命)。

在大多数情况下,微波PCD的数量应被认为是任意单位。在某些特殊情况下,结果可以与校准测量结果进行比较。然而,微波PCD的结果通常记录的不够详细,不能与任何其他寿命测量方法进行比较。一些先进的实验室从微波PCD记录校准测量,但微波PCD更常用的技术是没有被校准的。

什么寿命范围可以被测量?

0.1-20000微秒钝化晶片。

0.1到10000微秒未钝化硅锭。

最小的样本大小是多少?

Sinton设备是4厘米直径大小样品的出厂默认校准模式。用户可以为小样品重新校准。我们建议最小的样本大小至少是1平方厘米。

如何测量块或锭的本体寿命?

我们使用红外光光激发。这将在硅中产生过剩载流子,并产生显著的光产生,在1至1000微米深度范围内。这些载流子相对远离表面,对本体寿命非常敏感。对于通常用于太阳能电池的p型材料,我们进行了分析,以校正表面复合以记录本体寿命。对于长寿命样品,无论是p型还是n型,我们都采用了允许表面重组消除表面附近载流子的瞬态方法,以便在衰变后使用数据,渐近地接近真实的体寿命。在这种测量中,寿命被认为是过剩载流子密度的函数。

载体密度多大时我应该记录结果?

通常,跟踪作为载波密度的函数的整个数据是为了传达最多的信息。一个单点测量,我们建议10E15 cm-3。在过去的15年中,这已被用于大多数数据的记录。它与太阳能电池效率有关,这些仪器有良好的噪声信号,存在于大量的各种样品的数据迹线中,有利于铁的测定,并能很好地测量发射极饱和电流密度。

寿命测试仪能用来检测铁污染吗?

对!我们有一个应用说明,如何使用寿命测试仪的数据来检测铁。

如何校准仪器?

该仪器可追溯到四探针测量,为了使用绝对电导单位记录。这是进行完全校准瞬态测量所需的唯一校准。光强度传感器可以用几种方法进行校准。一种方式是将QSSPC和瞬态测量进行比较,并使用这些数据来为QSSPC测量设置强度校核。另一种方法是在工厂校准时对已知光源下的电池进行校准。

晶片何时进行在线测试?

在线晶片测试仪为了即将到来的晶片测试进行整合,然后再进行磷扩散(监控过程中的掺杂质量和晶片污染)。氮化物沉积也可以使用在线寿命测试仪进行优化和监测。

寿命测试仪测量陷阱吗?

对.每一次测量,我们会把300x范围内的光强度电导记录成光强度函数。这种依赖性通过采用低强度曲线的形状来确定捕获,从自由电子-空穴对电导中区分出来捕集光电导。然后我们记录了电子空穴复合寿命和陷阱参数。

组件 & 电池片测试仪

组件闪电测试仪

Suns-Voc是否包含在分析中?

是的,我们提供的每个模块测试解决方案都包括熟悉的Suns-Voc分析。这一技术由Sinton公司开发并投入市场销售,自1995年起就包含在我们的设备里。

模块测试仪有A类谱吗?

在它的标准配置中,模块测试仪有C类的频谱。可以选择过滤光源满足一级频谱需求,虽然
Sinton公司推荐测试硅模块时不过滤光源。

为什么我要使用C级光源?

光谱等级不能预测测量精度,仅仅使用特定等级的光源,不能保证好的数据。(例如,参见Herrmann等在欧洲实验室进行的光伏组件测试先进的比对试验。第二十二届欧洲光电太阳能会议暨展览会,2007)。我们未过滤的C级光源需要更少的功率,拥有更低的成本,而且总体上更环保,是更紧凑的解决方案,不会影响测量精度。

用Sinton闪点测定仪可以达到什么样的强度?

Sinton光源从1.2 Suns衰减到0.2 Suns,我们可以构建我 I(V)在这个范围内的任何强度曲线;然而,用户应该意识到,光谱通过脉冲的衰减红移,光谱为了1 Sun运行已经被优化。

这台仪器的吞吐量是多少?

在标准配置中,FMT-500能够每秒钟闪烁一次。在高吞吐量的应用程序,建议测试仪可用于五个或八个闪存配置去精确测量VOC,JSC,和VMP,总测试时间小于10秒。

FMT-500包括安装我模块的能力吗?

不包括。测试仪不包括安装组件的固定装置,用户负责安装模块。Sinton设备可以帮助讨论好的模块安装配置。标准测试仪可以测量功率500W的模块,最大短路1 5A和1 20v开路电压电流标准,但是用户可以自行定制测量范围。

测试仪器能够测量的最大功率是多少?

标准测试仪可以测量功率500W的模块,最大短路1 5A和1 20v开路电压电流标准,但是用户可以自行定制测量范围。

标准模块测试仪包含哪些部件?

Sinton设备以完整的系统销售模块的测试仪器,部件包括:光源、电源、电子负载、计算机和数据采集与分析软件。

这些测试仪用于生产吗?

对.超过7GW模块已经被多个模块制造商在某些情况下进行测试,整个生产是通过Sinton公司的模块测试仪进行测试的。

电池片闪电测试仪

Suns-Voc是否包含在分析中?

是的,我们提供的每个模块测试解决方案都包括熟悉的Suns-Voc分析。这一技术由Sinton公司开发并投入市场销售,自1995年起就包含在我们的设备里。

电池片测试仪有A类光谱吗?

氙闪光很适合与太阳光谱匹配,虽然红外线程度过高。Sinton的光线标准与符合A级要求的在线光学过滤选择一致。

什么样的强度可以用Sinton闪点测定仪达到了吗?

强度随着设备的大小而变化,标准的电池片0.2-1.2 suns, 大面积中等浓度电池片0-20 sun, 小区域高浓度设备 1000 suns. Sinton测试仪采用多闪技术而不是平顶脉冲。这样就可以相对容易地获得高的峰值强度。

从单个I(V) 扫描中如何获得多个光辐射的I(V) 曲线?

由于Flash的衰减性质,Sinton测试仪能够从每次闪光的光强度函数中获取电流和电压分布。该测试仪能够在电池片的稳态电荷的水平上有效扫描强度;这与传统的测试仪相反,传统的测试仪的电压是在恒定强度的单个光脉冲期间被扫描的。所有这些数据,从峰值强度通过一直到更低的强度,从每次闪光中都能获得这些数据,目的是从闪光特定序列中构建多个强度的I(V) 曲线。

这台仪器的吞吐量是多少?

FCT-450测试仪最适合用于研发应用,并且一个标准的配置能够10秒内测量太阳能电池I(V)特性、Suns-Voc曲线、衬底掺杂、和黑暗的分流电阻。FCT-450测试仪是我们生产的试验机,它提供了相同的测量结果,吞吐量每小时3600单位。

测试仪能够固定电池片吗?

可以。前触式电池片的标准固定装置是完全可以调节的,也可定制,这个装置已经用来测量双母线60 mmx 60mm到5母线 156mm× 156mm的电池片了。我们有很多为电池片设计定制接触式夹头的经验,包括背触式电池片和双面电池片。

测试仪能够测量什么范围内的电流?

标准的电池片测试仪能够测量15A以内的电流。客户如果想要测量更大的电流也是可以的。需要联系Sinton公司获取更多细节。

我购买的 I(V)电池测试仪包括哪些组件?

该仪器销售电池测试设备作为完整的系统包括光源、电源、电子负载的计算机和数据采集与分析软件。在这个时候,我们不单独出售电池测试仪器的固定装置和电子负载。

卡盘能控制温度吗?

能.我们的标准电池测试仪器包括冷却和加热元件,他们会保持一个恒定的卡盘温度或者让卡盘的环境温度大约保持在100℃或以下。由于闪光灯的占空比非常低,所以在测试过程中温度几乎不增加,因此我们的温度非常稳定。也提供更高的温度选择以便增加测试仪的测试范围。

这些测试仪能用于生产吗?

是的,FCT-750设备能用于生产;它特别适合于高效太阳能电池设计(perc,HJT,等..)的准确、高通量检测。Sinton设备的在线测试仪的整合是开放讨论的。如果你对这方面的应用感兴趣,请联系我们。

Lifetime Testers & Suns-Voc

What is the recombination lifetime?

When light strikes silicon, photons with energy greater than a threshold energy, the bandgap of silicon, are absorbed in the silicon creating excess charge carriers. These carriers last for a characteristic time equal to their “lifetime” before falling back into their low-energy state. The process of falling back to the low-energy state is referred to as recombination. So the characteristic time it takes an excess carrier to fall back into its lower energy state is called the recombination lifetime.

How does the solar cell efficiency depend on the lifetime?

If the lifetime of the excess carrier is longer than it takes to cross a wafer thickness, the transit time, then most of the photogenerated excess carriers can be collected as current from a solar cell. If the lifetime in the material is much longer than the transit time for the wafer, then the current can be collected at higher voltages, with each higher lifetime corresponding to a higher voltage at the same current collection fraction. With all other design elements of the solar cell equal, solar cells with higher carrier recombination lifetimes will have higher efficiencies. High-efficiency solar cell designs are critically dependent on the carrier lifetime. Standard solar cells are dependent up to a point, and then other losses tend to cause the efficiency gains to plateau with additional increases in lifetime.

What determines the lifetime in silicon?

The lifetime in bulk silicon is determined by the chemical purity of the silicon and the details of how the crystal was grown. Single crystalline silicon has a nearly perfect structure with each atom in its optimal place in the lattice structure. This crystalline material can have very high lifetime if it is sufficiently pure. Multicrystalline silicon is less expensive to grow, but has many crystalline defects, such as grain boundaries, and dislocations. These defects result in lower lifetimes than if the same starting material had been used to grow a single crystal. Metallic impurities are especially bad for lifetime, and have been studied widely. For example, iron contamination at one part per 1010 can change the lifetime of a silicon crystal by a large amount. Unfortunately, iron is a common contaminant due to its use in the stainless steel for parts of most of the machines that grow and process silicon. For wafers, the measured lifetime is often determined by surface effects, and the quality of the surface diffusion (the emitter saturation current density) or the surface passivation. A Sinton lifetime tester can be used to monitor and optimize these aspects of the production process.

How is lifetime measured by the Sinton Instruments tools?

Our systems use the Eddy-current method. A sensor (a coil built into the instrument stage) is placed near the silicon sample and sends electromagnetic waves into the silicon Light is then pulsed onto the sample to create the excess carriers, and the coil circuit senses the increase in conductance of the sample due to the carriers. This data is analyzed and the lifetime of the excess carriers during or after illumination is reported.

How is the data analyzed?

We use both transient photoconductance techniques, and the Quasi-steady-state photoconductance method (QSSPC) which we developed in 1994. These measurements are considered to be the most carefully calibrated in the industry for reporting accurate values of carrier recombination lifetime. Over 1000 technical papers are available in the literature discussing data taken and analyzed by these techniques.

Can you measure surface recombination velocity?

Yes, in the technical literature, these are the most common instruments used for reporting surface recombination velocities. The application notes that are provided with purchased instruments give the details for this analysis.

Does the system measure emitter saturation current density?

This is another common use for the instruments that is covered in detailed application notes that are provided with the instruments.

Can wafers be measured with no surface passivation (“out of the box”)?

Yes, we have an application note for measuring p-type wafers with no surface passivation. Without surface passivation, the measured lifetimes are very low, since the photogenerated carriers quickly diffuse to the surface and recombine there. However, the quality of the wafer can still be determined in the range of interest for most solar cells by using the measured lifetime and the trapping characteristic that can correlate with the crystalline quality.

Can any of these instruments do lifetime maps?

Yes, the SBS-150 does raster scanned automated X-Y mapping. The WCT-120, BCT-400, and BLS-I all can be used to do very rough (cm scale) manual maps.

How do these measurements compare to microwave PCD?

Microwave PCD is used to generate high-resolution maps that can be used to picture spatial variations and defects in the sample. Sinton instruments are primarily used to report lifetime and surface recombination properties in calibrated units as a function of carrier density in the sample.

Sinton Instruments’ measurements are analyzed in calibrated physical units, in order that the results can be used to model solar cells and predict performance. The results can also be compared to other calibrated lifetime measurements taken by different techniques at different laboratories or companies. The microwave PCD measurements usually report a curve-fit parameter (primary-mode lifetime of the microwave reflectance signal) from the raw data from the instrument. In most cases, the microwave PCD number should be considered to be in arbitrary units. In some special cases, the results can be compared to calibrated measurements. However microwave PCD results are generally not reported in sufficient detail to compare to any other lifetime measurement method. Some sophisticated laboratories report calibrated measurements from microwave PCD, but the more frequently used techniques for microwave PCD are not calibrated

What lifetimes can be measured?

0.1 to 20,000 microseconds on passivated wafers.
0.1 to 10,000 microseconds on unpassivated silicon ingots.

What is the smallest sample size?

The instruments are fully calibrated in the factory-default setup for samples that are 4-cm diameter. The user can recalibrate for small samples. We recommend that the smallest sample size be at least 1 cm square.

How do you measure bulk lifetime on blocks or ingots?

We use infra-red light photoexcitation. This creates excess carriers deep into the silicon, with significant photogeneration in the 100 to 1000 micrometer depth range. These carriers are relatively far from the surface and are very sensitive to bulk lifetime. For the p-type material commonly used for solar cells, we have an analysis that corrects for surface recombination to report bulk lifetime. For long lifetime samples, both p- or n-type, we use the transient method that allows the surface recombination to eliminate carriers near the surface so that using data later in the decay, the true bulk lifetime is approached asymptotically.

The lifetime is reported as a function of excess carrier density in this measurement.

At what carrier density should I report the result?

Often the entire data trace as a function of carrier density is shown in order to convey the most information. For a single-point measurement, we recommend 1015 cm-3. This has been used for the majority of reported data over the last 15 years. It is relevant to solar cell efficiencies, has good signal to noise for these instruments, exists in most data traces for a wide variety of samples, is good for Fe determination, and works quite well for measurements of emitter saturation current density.

Can the lifetime tester be used to detect Fe contamination?

Yes! We have an application note for how to detect Fe using the data from the lifetime testers.

How is the instrument calibrated?

The instrument is traceable to four-point-probe measurements in order to report in units of absolute conductance. This is the only calibration required for doing fully calibrated transient measurements. The light intensity sensor can be calibrated in one of several ways. One way is to compare QSSPC and transient measurements, and use this data to set the intensity calibration for the QSSPC measurement. The other is to calibrate the cell under a known light source as we do in the factory calibration.

When should wafers be tested inline?

The in-line wafer tester can be integrated for incoming wafer test, then again after phosphorus diffusion (to monitor for doping quality and wafer contamination in the front end of the process). The nitride deposition can also be optimized and monitored using an in-line lifetime tester.

Does the lifetime tester measure the trapping?

Yes. Within every measurement, we note the photoconductance as a function of the light intensity over a range of light intensities spanning 300X. The details of this dependence can be used to separate out trapping photoconductance from free electron-hole pair conductance by using the curve shape at low intensity to determine the trapping. Then we report both the electron-hole recombination lifetime as well as a trapping parameter.

Module & Cell Testers

Module Flash Tester

Is the Suns-Voc included in the analysis?

Yes, every module test solution we offer includes the familiar Suns-Voc analysis. This technique was developed & commercialized by Sinton Instruments and has been included in our instruments since 1995.

Does the module tester have a class A spectrum?

In its standard configuration, the module tester has a class C spectrum. There are options available to filter the light source to meet class A spectrum requirements, although Sinton Instruments recommends the unfiltered option for testing Si modules.

Why would I want to use a class C light source?

Spectral class does not predict measurement accuracy, so there is no guarantee of good data quality simply by using a specific class of light source (for example, see “Advanced Intercomparison Testing of Testing of PV Modules in European Test Laboratories” by Herrmann et al. in Proc. 22nd EU PVSEC, 2007). Our unfiltered class C light source requires less power, has lower cost of ownership, and is overall a more environmentally friendly & more compact solution that does not compromise measurement accuracy.

What intensities can be reached using a Sinton flash tester?

The Sinton light source decays from 1.2 to 0.2 suns and we can construct I(V) curves for any intensity in this range; however, the user should be aware that the spectrum red shifts through the decay of the pulse and the spectrum has been optimized for 1 sun operation.

What is the throughput of the instrument?

In a standard configuration the FMT-500 is capable of flashing once every second. In high throughput applications it is suggested the tester be used in a five- or eight-flash configuration to accurately measure Voc, Jsc, and Vmp, with a total test time of less than 10 seconds.

Does the FMT-500 include the ability to mount my module?

No. Fixtures for mounting modules are not included with the tester; the user is responsible for mounting the module. Sinton Instruments can help with discussions on good module mounting configurations.

What is the maximum power the tester is capable of measuring?

The standard tester is capable of measuring modules with powers of 500W, maximum short circuit current of 15A and open circuit voltage of 120V are standard, however customized ranges are available.

What is included with a standard module tester?

Sinton Instruments sells module test instruments as complete systems including: light source & power supply, electronic load, computer and data acquisition, and analysis software.

Are these testers used in production?

Yes. Over 7 GW of modules have been tested by multiple module manufacturers and in some cases the entire production is tested by Sinton Instrument’s module testers.

Cell Flash Testers

Is the Suns-Voc included in the analysis?

Yes, every cell test solution we offer includes the familiar Suns-Voc analysis developed & commercialized by Sinton Instruments and included in our instruments since 1995.

Does the cell tester have a class A spectrum?

Xenon flashes are well-suited to match the solar spectrum although they are somewhat IR rich. The Sinton light comes standard with in-line optical filtering options which meet the class A requirements.

What intensities can be reached using a Sinton flash tester?

The intensity can vary greatly with the size of the device, 0.2 to 1.2 suns for standard cells, 2 to 20 suns for large area medium concentration cells and over 1000 suns for small area high concentration devices. The Sinton tester uses a multiple flash technique rather than a flat top pulse. This allows for high peak intensities to be obtained with relative ease.

How are I(V) curves at multiple irradiances obtained for a single I(V) scan?

Due to the nature of the decay of the flash, the Sinton tester is capable of acquiring current and voltage profiles as a function of light intensity for each flash. The Sinton tester effectively scans intensity at a level of constant, steady-state charge in the solar cell; this is opposed to conventional testers in which the voltage is scanned during a single light pulse at constant intensity. All of this data, from the peak intensity down through lower intensities, is available from each individual flash in order to construct I(V) curves at multiple intensities from a specified sequence of flashes.

What is the throughput of the instrument?

The FCT-450 tester is best suited for R&D applications, and in a standard configuration is capable of measuring the solar cell I(V) characteristic, Suns-Voc curve, substrate doping, and dark shunt resistance in less than 10 seconds. The FCT-750 is our production tester, which provides the same measurement results, at a throughput of 3600 units per hour.

Is the tester capable of fixturing my cell?

Yes. The standard fixture for front contact cells is fully adjustable and customizable and has been used to measure cells ranging from dual busbar 60mm x 60mm cells to five busbar 156mm x 156mm cells. We have a lot of experience designing custom contacting chucks for any cell design including back contact and bifacial cells.

What current is the tester capable of measuring?

The standard one sun cell tester is capable of measuring up to 15 A. Custom options to measure higher currents are possible please contact Sinton Instruments for details..

What is included with any of the I(V) cell testers I purchase?

Sinton Instruments sells cell test instruments as complete systems including: light source & power supply, electronic load, computer and data acquisition, and analysis software. At this time we do not sell the fixtures and electronic loads of the cell test instruments independently.

Do the chucks have temperature control?

Yes. Our standard cell testers include cooling and heating elements that will maintain a constant chuck temperature or take the chuck to approximately 10°C above or below ambient. There is very little temperature excursion during testing due to the very low duty cycle of the flash lamp and our temperatures are therefore very stable. Higher temperature options to increase the range of the tester are available.

Are these testers used in production?

Yes, the FCT-750 is used in production; it is especially suited for accurate, high-throughput testing of high efficiency solar cell designs (PERC, HJT, etc…). Sinton Instruments is open to discussions about inline integration of our testers; please contact us if you are interested in this application.